Surrogate Courts (R.S.S. 1940, c. 63).—There is a Surrogate Court for each judicial district and the Surrogate Courts Act provides that the judge of the District Court shall be the judge of the Surrogate Court. The Court has jurisdiction in probate matters.

Juvenile Court (S.S. 1946, c. 91).—Under the Child Welfare Act a Juvenile Court is established. Each judge of a District Court and each police magistrate in the Province is ex officio a judge of the Juvenile Court and, in addition, the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint other judges of the Juvenile Court. The Court has jurisdiction over juvenile offences under provincial statutes and also has jurisdiction, under the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act.

Magistrates' Courts (R.S.S. 1940, c. 94).—Magistrates are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. There are eight full-time and eight part-time magistrates. All the magistrates exercise criminal jurisdiction. They are ex officio justices of the peace and accordingly have the jurisdiction of a justice of the peace in civil cases.

Justices of the Peace (R.S.S. 1940, c. 95).—Justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council and, in addition to limited criminal jurisdiction, have jurisdiction in civil cases up to \$100.

Alberta.—Supreme Court (R.S.A. 1942, c. 129).—The Supreme Court of Alberta consists of two branches or divisions; one is designated the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court of Alberta and the other is designated the Trial Division of the Supreme Court of Alberta. The Appellate Division consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of Alberta, and four other judges. The Trial Division consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Trial Division, and five other judges. All judges of the Supreme Court are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Appellate Division exercises general appellate jurisdiction throughout the Province and the Trial Division has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters.

District Courts (R.S.A. 1942, c. 121).—There are two District Court districts in Alberta, namely, the District of Northern Alberta and the District of Southern Alberta, with a District Court for each. The Court of the District of Northern Alberta consists of a chief judge and five other judges and the Court of the District of Southern Alberta consists of a chief judge and four other judges. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The District Courts generally have jurisdiction in all cases where the claim does not exceed \$600 and, in addition, have jurisdiction in criminal, probate and guardianship matters.

Juvenile Courts (S.A. 1944, c. 8).—The Child Welfare Act establishes a Juvenile Court for the Province and every judge of the Supreme Court, every judge of a District Court and every police magistrate is ex officio a judge of the Juvenile Court. In addition the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint other persons to be judges of the Juvenile Court; 11 such judges have been appointed. The Court has jurisdiction to hear and determine offences charged against children under any statute of the Province and, in addition, the Court is a Juvenile Court for the purposes of the Dominion Juvenile Delinquents Act.